Oberwolfach Prize

The Oberwolfach Prize is financed by the Oberwolfach Foundation and awarded in cooperation with the Mathematisches Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach to young mathematicians. The prize is awarded approximately every three years for excellent achievements in changing fields of mathematics. The Scientific Committee of the Gesellschaft für mathematische Forschung e.V. is involved in selecting the prize winners from the nominations. The Oberwolfach Prize comes with an award of Euro 10,000.

Oberwolfach Prize 2019 for Junior Mathematicians

Portrait of Oskar Randal-Williams

The Oberwolfach Foundation awards in cooperation with the Mathematisches Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach the Oberwolfach Prize 2019 for excellent achievements in Geometry and Topology to

Oscar Randal-Williams

The MFO thanks all researchers who have made a prize nomination in 2019. A laudation on Oscar Randal-Williams will appear here, soon.


Oberwolfach Prize Winners 1991 - 2016


Jacob Fox (Stanford)

Discrete Mathematics

Presentation of Jacob Fox


Hugo Duminil-Copin (Genève)

Stochastics and Statistics

Presentation of H. Duminil-Copin


Nicola Gigli (Nice)
László Székelyhidi (Bonn)

Analysis and Applied Mathematics

Presentation of N. Gigli
Presentation of L. Szekelyhidi


Ngô Bao Châu (Orsay)

Algebra and Number Theory

Presentation of Ngô Bao Châu


Paul Biran (Tel Aviv)

Geometry and Topology

Presentation of P. Biran


Luca Trevisan (Berkeley)

Discrete Mathematics


Alice Guionnet (Paris)



Gero Friesecke (Oxford)
Stefan Sauter (Zürich)

Analysis and Applied Mathematics


Jörg Brüdern (Stuttgart)
Jens Franke (Bonn)

Number Theory and Algebra


Peter Kronheimer (Oxford)

Topology and Geometry